Board of Directors


Since its formation, The University of Tennessee Medical Center has experienced tremendous growth, and the University Health System Inc., board of directors is a key factor and supporter of that growth. Each member believes in the medical center’s mission, vision and values and stays informed about general operations and the healthcare needs of the community. Thanks to their contributions, talent and expertise, the medical center has been able to become a leader in healthcare for the region.

Renda Burkhart

Renda Burkhart

Chair, UHS Board of Directors, President & CPA Burkhart & Company

Bud Sherrod

H. W. “Bud” Sherrod, Jr.

Vice Chair and Finance Committee Chair, UHS Board of Directors Partner Allison, Sherrod, Owens & Siddons

Bernard E. Bernstein

Bernard E. Bernstein

Secretary/Treasurer, UHS Board of Directors Bernstein, Stair & McAdams Attorneys

Carolyn Fairbank Biggs

Carolyn Fairbank Biggs

President, The Inn at Christmas Place

Randy D. Boyd

Randy D. Boyd

President, The University of Tennessee

Joseph T. Chun MD

Dr. Joseph T. Chun

University Plastic Surgeons

Lisa Duncan MD

Dr. Lisa D. Duncan

University Pathologists, PC

Cristen “Crissy” G. Haslam

Community Leader/Philanthropist

Joseph E. Johnson

Joseph E. Johnson, PhD

President, Emeritus The University of Tennessee

Joe Landsman

Joseph R. Landsman, Jr.

President & CEO, University Health System Inc.

Donde A. Plowman

Dr. Donde A. Plowman

Chancellor, The University of Tennessee - Knoxville

Sharon J. Pryse

Sharon J. Pryse

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Trust Company

Sara Fortune Rose

Sara Fortune Rose

Retired, Government and Industry Affairs Bush Brothers & Company

Steve J. Schwab

Dr. Steve J. Schwab, MD

Chancellor, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center (Ex-Officio Member)

Amy Barger Stevens MD

President, University Physicians’ Association, Inc. (Ex-Officio Member)

Harry W. Stowers

Harry W. "Wes" Stowers

President, Stowers Machinery Corporation

Michael T. Strickland

Michael T. Strickland

Chair, Bandit Lites


Start typing and press Enter to search