Board of Directors


Since its formation, The University of Tennessee Medical Center has experienced tremendous growth, and the University Health System Inc., board of directors is a key factor and supporter of that growth. Each member believes in the medical center’s mission, vision and values and stays informed about general operations and the healthcare needs of the community. Thanks to their contributions, talent and expertise, the medical center has been able to become a leader in healthcare for the region.

William S. Rukeyser

Chairman, UHS Board of Directors Rukeyser & Company

Howard W. "Bud" Sherrod, Jr.

Vice Chair, UHS Board of Directors Partner Allison, Sherrod, Owens & Siddons

Bernard E. Bernstein

Secretary/Treasurer, UHS Board of Directors Bernstein, Stair & McAdams Attorneys

James A. Haslam II

Assistant Secretary/Treasurer, UHS Board of Directors Pilot Oil Corporation

Randy D. Boyd

Interim UT President, The University of Tennessee

Renda Burkhart

Finance Committee Chair President & CPA Burkhart & Company

Dr. Joseph T. Chun

University Plastic Surgeons

Dr. Lisa D. Duncan

University Pathologists, PC

Robert F. Elder, MD

President University Physicians Association Inc. (Ex-Officio Member)

Joseph E. Johnson, PhD

President Emeritus The University of Tennessee

Joseph R. Landsman, Jr.

President & CEO University Health System Inc.

Dr. Donde A. Plowman

Chancellor, The University of Tennessee - Knoxville

Sharon J. Pryse

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer The Trust Company

Sara Fortune Rose

Retired, Government and Industry Affairs Bush Brothers & Company

Dr. Steve J. Schwab, MD

Chancellor The University of Tennessee Health Science Center (Ex-Officio Member)

Harry W. "Wes" Stowers

President Stowers Machinery Corporation

Michael T. Strickland

Chair Bandit Lites


Start typing and press Enter to search